Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Digi 002  (Read 5028 times)
thaimat
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« on: August 29, 2008, 03:28:44 am »

Hi, I'm building a new system:

Asus P5K SE Motherboard
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 2.66GHz LGA775 FSB1333 L2 Cache 12MB
4-2G DDR-3 1066 
2-Western Digital WDWD10EACS 1000GB SATA II Transfer Rate 300MB/s 7200RPM Buffer 16MB
ASUS nVIDIA PCI-EX EN8600GT SILENT/HTDP/512M PCI-EX
DVD RW with LightScribe
Delux DLC-MG483 Metalic case
ENERMAX Power Supply 400 Watt DUAL FAN
Microsoft keyboard
Microsoft mouse
     I want to use the Digidesign Digi 002 as my music (Firewire) interface.  Anyone using this with osx86?
     Thanks all, power to the people.
M

 






Logged
osx_maniac
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 10


« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2008, 03:37:33 pm »

I am about to build a similar system, for music too, and I use an edirol ua-101.. all those devices that have original manufacturer drivers designed for osx are intended to being runing on hackintosh based systems.. of course you don't get the same stability that in an ordinary macintosh computer (I have a macbook 13" and it doesn't compares to any other system even if it is a pc running osx, although it is extremelly slow, reason why I will buy an hackintosh)
Logged
thaimat
Newbie
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2008, 11:37:45 pm »

Thanks maniac, I just wanted to be sure.  I understand, about the stability issue, I only want to run Logic Pro, to get to know it's abilities, and don't want to shell out $4,000 initially.  By running Logic on a Hackentosh, I can spend $1200, and get to find out if I want to stay on Mac/Logic, or go to ProTools on a Pc platform, as Digidesign now recommends.
PttP
Logged
osx_maniac
Jr. Member
**
Posts: 10


« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2008, 01:31:48 pm »

use logic on mac or pro tools on mac.. I am currently running a macbook 13" but considering to buy an hackintosh with a similar configuration to yours - you can see it on a post by me.. to run from games to the software I use for my netlabel stuff, to software as logic (I have an edirol ua-101 and a yamaha mixer, and am not thinking to change them by now), ableton, and cycling 74 max 5 (I have license on macbook 13", and will run demos, runtimes, and all those stuff on hackintosh, or even buy suplementar lecenses).. but anyway, check osx86 project page to make sure it runs properly
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: